Skip navigation

Hi.

My name is Monica and I am an addict.

I have more nail polish than I will ever use in one lifetime, and yet somehow, I can always justify buying that one color that is “nothing like any other color I own.” It is for this reason that I must be frugal about my polish purchasing, although I must admit, I may be too late.  (My filled-to-overflowing Helmer agrees.)

I have created some simple ways to save money, save polish, save money on polish and have fun doing it. This is my philosophy in most areas of my life, come to think of it.

I call it “wixology” because I am a mixologist at heart. I combine lip balms, blend eyeshadow and, you guessed it, “franken” nail polish.  (And my MakeupAlley username is wixbetty, so there’s that.)

I must warn you that I am a nanny, so much of my life has been spent attempting to make little ones laugh, (if only to get them to stop crying) so I will, at times, be silly.  I used to be serious, but my husband ruined all that.

I want this blog to be a resource that addresses your needs and issues. I have my own list of topics, but if you have a pressing question, please let me know and I will make every effort to offer a solution, or to find one for you.

I will post a poll below with a few of my topics as well as an option to suggest your own topic, so I can better cater to my audience.  I am new at this whole blogging experience, so I appreciate any feedback you have to offer, as well as any tips or advice on how I can improve your blog experience.

************************************************************************************************************************

Tip #1 ~ How I “top off” my polish bottles for easy identification

My first tip is one that came out of necessity.  I have stored my polish in shoe boxes, greeting card boxes and now, in Helmer drawers.  Each of these storage solutions caused me to glance at the top of the bottles, scratch my head, and then pull the bottles out, one by one, until I located the right color.

This was not an issue until I collected about 20 similar dark purples. The search alone added unnecessary time to my manicure  process, so my initial thought was to paint each lid of the polish bottles with the color inside it.

I had a much smaller collection then, so I made an afternoon of it. When I get a new bottle, after I use it for the first time, I will paint the flat part of the top with the corresponding color within and after it has dried, put it away.

I have tried to demonstrate the usefulness of this tip in the photos, but since all but a few are already “topped off” I was limited by colors that I have with both plain and painted lids. (I am still working out the kinks in the wordpress photo gallery, so any tips you can offer are appreciated!)

The first pair of photos are a before and after of various polishes with both plain tops and painted tops in a random box mixed with topcoats and cuticle oil, just to show the difference.

The order of the colors in the last four photos are as follows:

OPI Black Tie Optional x2  *  China Glaze IDK

China Glaze GR8 x2  *  OPI TextMe, Text You x2

OPI My Private Jet x2  *  China Glaze LOL x2

China Glaze Ruby Pumps x2  *  OPI What’s Dune x2

The second pair show the same pairs of polish, but this time side-by-side with and without flash.

The third pair is just at another angle with the same configuration as the middle two.

If I had another hand, I would take a photo of the painting process itself.   If I have two bottles of the same polish, I just paint the lid of one bottle with the brush of the other, and vice versa.

More common-with a single bottle – I usually pull out the brush, wiping off as much polish as is possible and while holding the brush upright and level,  pour a small amount of polish from the bottle onto the lid.  I quickly replace the lid, carefully screwing it back onto the bottle and smooth out the polish by rotating the bottle until the cap is coated.

The bottle then sits on my desk until the polish is dry, although with the depth of the Helmer drawers, most polish bottles fit easily and can be put away immediately. Sometimes, I will top it off further with Seche Vite, but usually only on gritty glitters like China Glaze Ruby Pumps or matte neons like Flying Dragon.

I hope this is an idea that will help alleviate some of the frustration I experienced in organizing my own collection. If you have another idea, or want to share your own method of identifying your polish, I would love to hear from you!

Thanks for reading and look for my next post, chosen by you!

6 Comments

  1. Wonderful new blog! I’m excited to see what it brings us.

    • Thanks Siobhan, your support means so much to me!

  2. I enjoyed reading your blog. I can tell that you put a lot of time and thought into it. I can’t wait to read the next entry. Great job!

    • Thanks for reading, Candi!
      I really appreciate your feedback- I’ll have another post up next week.
      My goal is Wednesday, but so far, editing has been taking longer than I expect. =P
      ~Monica

  3. Hi Monica,
    I upload my photos individually from my hard drive for my blog. I had a lot of problems with the “gallery” setting.

    I’m generally too lazy to upload to Photobucket and then to my blog, so I find that “Browse Files From This Computer” option works well for me.

    Your blog has a nice clean look- I like your color wheels. It took me a moment to find the bloglinks and comment field, but I also haven’t had any caffeine today, either. Nice work and I’m looking forward to see future posts!

    • Thanks so much for your input, Jen.

      Unfortunately, it’s the photos I uploaded from my hard drive that disappeared. The gallery has remained the same in both posts.
      This is why I have turned to Photobucket; I hope to prevent it from happening altogether.

      The placement of the links seems to be determined by the “theme” I chose, but, like you, I prefer the black background and this was the only one that I really was drawn toward.

      As a blogger I look up to, it means so much that you took the time to give your thoughts.
      Thanks again, Jen! =]


Leave a Reply

